Background:  Starting with the 1993-94 academic year, the SWOA scholarship has been given to outstanding young individuals from schools that are contractually serviced by our organization. The $500 award is not based on wrestling ability. It is awarded to a graduating senior who has an interest in wrestling. The criteria used to determine the recipient will be academics, need, projected college costs, the completed application, and a personal interview. Applicants must demonstrate an interest in the sport. More than likely, the successful candidate will have been a member of a high school wrestling team.

In 2003, this scholarship was named after Reed Hawke and Lou Pettinelli, who were two of the founding and now lifetime members of the SWOA. The scholarship is now known as the Reed Hawke-Lou Pettinelli Wrestling Scholarship.

How to Apply: All high schools that are contracted by SWOA will be given an application, which can be reproduced by the athletic director or coach. Any questions on if you are eligible to apply, please call me at 315-492-9038. The application must be filled out completely and returned to:

SWOA Scholarship
Mr. Stephen Cuipylo
P.O. Box 322
LaFayette, NY 13084

Deadline: Applications must be post-marked no later than TBD. Any application post-marked after TBD will be returned. ****Please make sure that you have all the required documents listed on the application form included with your application. Any incomplete application will be rejected.

Interview Information: Interviews will take place on TBD at TBD. Please leave this date open for an interview. We will NOT be interviewing any other day. Candidates will be contacted shortly after the application due date and given a time for the interview, which will last approximately 15 minutes. You will be notified by email as to the time of your interview.

Questions: Contact Steve Cuipylo at 315-492-9038.


Hawke-Pettinelli Scholarship Award


       The 2017 Hawke-Pettinelli Scholarship Award was presented to Michael Spicer from Baldwinsville High School

Past Recipients

2016 – Katherine Sumner, Port Byron and Thomas Fuzia, Baldwinsville
2015 – Grant Tinker, Cortland
2014 – James Bailey, Fulton
2013 – Tom Quinlan, Fayetteville-Manlius
2012 – Mitch Alpha, Jordan-Elbridge
2011 – Nick LaFlair, Central Square
2010 – Shane Strong, Morrisville-Eaton
2009 – Matt Letcher, ESM
2008 – Ryan Avery, Solvay
2007 – Colin Veney, Liverpool
2006 – Greg Hutko, ESM
2005 – Matt LaFlair, Central Square
2004 – Martino Barletta, Fowler
2003 – Colin Donahoe, West Genesee
2002 – Dan Esposito, Marcellus
2001 – Randall Huther, Central Square
2000 – Matt Abbott, Marcellus
1999 – Bill Parry, Hamilton
1998 – Jonathan Hess, Hannibal
1997 – Scott Hepburn, West Genesee
1996 – Robert Doolittle, Oswego
1995 – Peter Grevelding, LaFayette
1994 – Jason Nolan, Marcellus