The Syracuse Wrestling Officials Association (SWOA) will continue to recognize wrestling teams with exemplary sportsmanship programs. The John Arcaro Sportsmanship Award will be presented during the Section III Wrestling Finals to the school that best personifies the characteristics listed below:


ADMINISTRATION (Home Team Only): Officials will evaluate such things as your dressing room, shower facilities, voucher availability, scorers, timers, supplies and personnel for blood cleanup, national anthem, etc.

COACHES: Officials will evaluate such things as attendance and attention during the pre-meet locker room talk, professionalism toward the official, the opposing coach, wrestlers and fans. Officials will also determine if individuals project a positive image for the sport of wrestling and determine if coaches use proper procedures when approaching the scores table, etc.

WRESTLERS: Officials will evaluate if wrestlers pay attention during pre-meet locker room talk, if they wrestle aggressively in a sportsmanlike manner, if they hustle or straggle to the center of the wrestling area, if they start and stop on the whistle and comply in a positive and respectful manner with pre-match and post-match procedures. Wrestlers should also project a positive image toward the sport of wrestling.

SPECTATORS: Officials will evaluate if support is comprised in a positive manner throughout the match and if individuals are unduly critical of the official and his judgment.

We take pride in honoring exemplary programs and congratulate those schools who have been selected as recipients in the past. Best of luck on a successful season.

Arcaro Award


The 2017 John Arcaro Sportsmanship Award was presented to
Skaneateles High School.

Past Recipients
2016 – Homer High School
2015 – Otselic Valley High School
2014 – Cicero-North Syracuse
2013 – Chittenango
2012 – Marcellus
2011 – Jordan-Elbridge
2010 – Baldwinsville
2009 – Chittenango
2008 – Auburn
2007 – Cicero-North Syracuse
2006 – Camden
2005 – Cazenovia
2004 – Liverpool
2003 – Morrisville-Eaton
2002 – Hannibal
2001 – Chittenango
2000 – Phoenix
1999 – Cicero-North Syracuse
1998 – Lafayette
1997 – Oswego
1996 – Mexico
1995 – Cazenovia
1994 – West Genesee
1993 – Cato-Meridian
1992 – Port Byron
1991 – Oswego
1990 – Camden & LaFayette